Meet the Steering Committee

Steering Committee members advise on program activities and introduce funding and collaboration connections where possible. They also complete a variety of other roles to help our program best serve West Virginia!

Sue Ann Heatherly

Program Director

Green Bank Observatory

Seeks funding and grant opportunities

Sophie Saint Georges

Program Coordinator

Green Bank Observatory

Coordinates and leads Steering Committee meetings, Fall Training, and Spring Summit. Advises scheduler, updates SPOT management documentation, compiles a yearly evaluation report, updates social media, develops recruitment posters and emails, programs advertisement to teachers, designs and updates website, updates presentations

Harley Kinder

Fiscal Coordinator

Green Bank Observatory

Receives and records travel stipends from participating schools and organizations

Luci Finucan

Social Media Manager

Green Bank Observatory

Updates social media, develops and collaborates on advertising flyers and recruitment posters

Mark Barnes

Fiscal Coordinator

Green Bank Observatory

Pay orders for Ambassadors, invoices to funding members, fiscal reporting

Campus Advisors

These members recruit and certify ambassadors. Develop course work/ academic integration, restock SPOT kits and assist with presentation preparation.

Kathryn Williamson

Membership & Sponsorship Coordinator

West Virginia University

Develops membership & sponsorship policies, seeks new members & sponsors

Deb Hemler

Fairmont State University

Sytil Murphy

Shepherd University

Jon Saken

Marshall University

Tracey DeLaney

West Virginia Wesleyan College

Brandi Gaertner

Alderson-Broaddus University

Hannah Payne

West Virginia State University

Amanda Francis

West Liberty University

Scott Brothers

Bethany College

Renaud Stauber

Davis & Elkins College

Research Members

These members develop or have developed presentations and activities

Kathryn Williamson

West Virginia University

Sarah Cayton

West Virginia Water Research Institute

Weichao Tu

West Virginia University

Maura McLaughlin

West Virginia University

Majid Jaridi

NASA WV Space Grant Consortium

Candy Cordwell

NASA WV Space Grant Consortium

Jeff Northey


Jess White


Duncan Lorimer

West Virginia University

Eric Meriam

Appalachian Fresh Water Initiative

West Virginia University

Adri Persad

West Virginia University